Ajust text size (less) Ajust text size (more)
Adjust text size

Pharmacist of the Year

Back to previous page

The PSA Pharmacist of the Year Award recognises the winner’s important contribution to the profession.

The winner’s achievements are an inspiration to those pursuing innovative practice; to those striving to raise standards; and to pharmacists who, through their professionalism, provide models for others in related disciplines, educational institutions, government, industry and community service.

The award of Pharmacist of the Year is based on a significant achievement in an area of excellence within the year or a recent period.

The Pharmacist of the Year will receive the prestigious PSA Excellence Awards medal, along with a Symbion Education Grant, valued at $9,000.

The prize must be take up within 12 months of receipt unless other arrangements are made during that time.

Current and past Pharmacists of the Year

Noel Fosbery named as 2016 PSA Pharmacist of the Year

Noel has been described as a dedicated pharmacist who has worked to ensure his local community has access to a high level of primary health care and pharmacy services.  Noel has also been instrumental in developing innovative solutions to ensure access of opioid maintenance therapy in his local community and providing an easy to use solution for pharmacists Australia-wide.

Andrew 'Robbo' Roberts named 2015 PSA Pharmacist of the Year

Andrew Roberts, Pharmacist of the Year 2015
31 July 2015 Remote pharmacist and tireless advocate for improvements in Aboriginal health, Andrew ‘Robbo’ Roberts, has been named the PSA Pharmacist of the Year for 2015. Mr Roberts is also renowned for advocating an extend scope of practice for pharmacists to improve health in rural and remote communities.

Lindy Swain named as PSA Pharmacist of the Year

NSW pharmacist Lindy Swain has been named the PSA Pharmacist of the Year for 2014 for her work as a clinician, innovator, teacher and researcher in rural areas, and in particular in improving the health outcomes of indigenous Australians.

2013 Pharmacist of the Year: Jenny Gowan

2013 Pharmacist of the Year, Dr Jenny Gowan
Victoria  pharmacist Dr Jenny Gowan has been named the PSA Pharmacist of the Year for 2013 for her work in advancing pharmacy practice and for wide-ranging scope of work to which she constantly brings innovation and new ideas.

2012 Pharmacist of the Year: Deirdre Criddle

Deirdre Criddle
A lifelong commitment to patient care and the quality use of medicines led to West Australian pharmacist, Deirdre Criddle, being named Pharmacist of the Year. Deirdre was described by her nominee as an example of a pharmacist who demonstrated that ‘with dedication and drive you can make pharmacist involvement in patient care and quality use of medicines education essential.

2011 Pharmacist of the Year: Michael Cain

Michael Cain
Michael Cain, a West Australian hospital oncology pharmacist renowned for being an enthusiastic teacher and mentor, is the 2011 Pharmacist of the Year. He works at the Cancer Clinical Service Unit of the Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital at Nedlands.

2010 Pharmacist of the Year: Karalyn Huxhagen

Karalyn Huxhagen
Karalyn Huxhagen is based in Mackay, Queensland, and is a passionate community pharmacist and advocate for rural pharmacy. She is renowned as a leader and change agent across all levels of health care. Her endeavours have helped to improve service delivery and health outcomes for Australians living in rural and remote areas.

2009 Pharmacist of the Year: Nick Logan

Nick Logan
Community pharmacist and forward dispensing pioneer Nick Logan has won the 2009 PSA Pharmacist of the Year award. Nick Logan from Artarmon in Sydney has built a successful practice which focuses on the development of an innovative professional model of pharmacy practice.
PSA membership

Sign in or sign up for features available only to members

our vision: Improving Australia's health through excellence in pharmacist care