Ajust text size (less) Ajust text size (more)
Adjust text size

Dr Shane Jackson elected unopposed as PSA National President

Back to previous page

June 22, 2017

Tasmanian pharmacist Dr Shane Jackson has been elected unopposed as President by the National Board of the peak body for Australia’s pharmacists, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) today.

Dr Jackson – who will take office from July 1, 2017 – has followed Joe Demarte who served as National President for two years.

PSA's National Board Executive

(L-R): PSA National Board Executive: Dr Chris Freeman, Dr Shane Jackson and Michelle Lynch.

Dr Jackson paid tribute to Mr Demarte who has served as President since July 2015.

“Joe has been an inspirational leader and helped to position PSA for the future – he has been instrumental in helping guide the profession to meet the evolving needs of today’s healthcare system,” Dr Jackson said.

“Within the pharmacy profession, Joe has been a driver behind funding for clinical interventions and MedsChecks. Thanks to Joe’s leadership and support, PSA has lifted its profile to become an organisation that is now widely recognised as the peak national body for all pharmacists across Australia.”

The Board also elected Michelle Lynch and Dr Chris Freeman as National Vice-Presidents.

As an owner of two community pharmacies in Tasmania, Dr Jackson is a Clinical Reference Lead with the Australian Digital Health Agency, a Director of the Australian Association of Consultant Pharmacy (AACP) and Chair of the Pharmacy Practitioner Development Committee (PPDC).

From 2006 to 2010, Dr Jackson was a PSA National Board Director, and from 2008 to 2014 he was President of PSA’s Tasmanian Branch. Dr Jackson said he was greatly honoured to be elected National President, which is an important leadership role for PSA and the pharmacy profession.

“I am delighted to take on this role and I look forward to working with the National Board, PSA’s elected officials, executive team and all members to ensure we continue to collaborate to have a viable and sustainable future for all pharmacists, and assist members deliver excellence in pharmacist care,” Dr Jackson said.

PSA ECP Board Director Taren Gill, Dr Chris Freeman, Dr Shane Jackson and Michelle Lynch.

(L-R): PSA ECP Board Director Taren Gill, Dr Chris Freeman, Dr Shane Jackson and Michelle Lynch.

“It’s an exciting time for the profession and there are many emerging opportunities, especially in terms of new career paths, new roles and remuneration, innovation and value-adding healthcare services provided by PSA to members. I am fully committed to helping members maximise these opportunities and help build their professional careers as well as improving the health of all Australians.”

PSA’s National Board also re-appointed Early Career Pharmacist (ECP) Director Taren Gill for another term.

Dr Jackson said: “PSA’s Board is pleased to announce they have extended Ms Gill’s Board appointment for another year. Ms Gill has been an effective Board member and has also been effective in raising the needs and interests of ECPs within the profession and PSA. The Board believes that another year will greatly assist in maximising Ms Gill’s impact.”


Media contact: Brad Watts
Executive Director, Communications
0487 922 176

This item is listed in the following categories: • 2017 media releasesMedia releases


our vision: Improving Australia's health through excellence in pharmacist care

' • '