



Sunday 20 October 2019

Exceptional Tasmanian pharmacists recognised

Tasmanian pharmacists Peter Fowler (Launceston, Tasmanian Pharmacist Lifetime Achievement Award), Fredrik Hellqvist (Dover, Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year) and Dana McLennan (New Town, Early Career Pharmacist Award) were last night honoured for their outstanding contribution to the health of Tasmanians in the Tasmanian Pharmacist Awards presented at the sixth annual Tasmanian Pharmacist Dinner in South Hobart.

The awards, jointly hosted by the Tasmanian branches of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA), The Pharmacy Guild of Australia and the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA), and the University of Tasmania, recognise outstanding achievement in supporting the quality and safe use of medicines.

Tasmanian pharmacy leaders have congratulated each of the award winning pharmacists on their success:

"Over many years, Peter has been dedicated to supporting the next generation of pharmacists through outstanding work in education and tutoring, as well as mentoring Intensive Care Pharmacists in the hospital setting." SHPA Tasmanian Chair, Michelle Paine said. "His leadership of hospital pharmacists in Tasmania, and across Australia has supported excellence and the continued evolution of the role pharmacists play in supporting safe and quality medicine use in hospitals."

Pharmacy Guild Tasmanian President John Dowling said, "Fred has dedicated his life to rural pharmacy since moving to Tasmania and purchasing Dover Pharmacy in 2013. He has created a network and advocates for and on behalf of all rural and remote pharmacists in Australia. Tasmanians living in rural and regional area have better access to pharmacist care because of his contribution."

Congratulating Dana on her award, Dr Ella Van Tienen, Tasmanian President of PSA reflected 'Dana has been instrumental in the development of clinical pharmacy services at the Calvary Hospital. Aspects of these services have since been implemented at St John's Hospital and Hobart Private Hospital."

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia congratulates all the award winners on their achievements.

Entries for the 2020 Tasmanian Pharmacist Awards will open in August 2020.

Interviews with award winners and additional photos are available through Paquita Sutherland, PSA Tasmanian Branch at *paquita.sutherland@psa.org.au*

Profiles of award winners follow on next page

Media contact: PSA Tasmania, Paquita Sutherland 0408 308 339

Tasmanian Pharmacist Dinner 2019: Award Winners - profiles

Peter Fowler, Tasmanian Pharmacist Lifetime Achievement Award, Launceston

Peter is a specialist Critical Care Pharmacist in the Launceston General Hospital Intensive Care Unit. Peter has provided critical care education to many of Australia's ICU pharmacists and intensivists through on-the-job education and officially in his capacity as a tutor and conjoint lecturer with the University of Tasmania

Peter has fulfilled broad career roles, including recently as an Information Systems Pharmacist, Manager of Clinical Services at the Launceston General Hospital and as a Pharmacy Manager in two Tasmanian hospitals.

Peter is a leader in digital health. He has published: a popular medication profile generator (MedProfs), pharmacokinetic calculators for renal function and drug dosing. Peter previously also developed medication infusion guidelines that became the long held "Fowler bible" of medication infusion at the LGH. Nationally, Peter represents Tasmania on the National E-Health Transition Agency's Terminology Working Group and Clinical Usability Programme Steering Group.

Peter has been a member of the Tasmanian SHPA State Branch Committee for over 20 years and held an executive role for over 14 years. He has served a Federal Councillor/ Board Director for five years until November 2018. During this time, Peter held the role of Federal Treasurer, chaired the Workforce Transformation Committee, and stewarded significant change in the hospital pharmacy workforce landscape (bringing technician role-redesign and hospital pharmacy residency to our hospitals).

In November 2018 Peter was elected as Federal President of SHPA; the first time this prestigious position has been held by a Tasmanian.

Fred Hellqvist, Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year, Dover

Fred Hellqvist, owner of Dover pharmacy, is proud to fly-the-flag for regional and rural communities. Fred partnered with Terry Burnett of Bruny Island Pharmacy to found Small Pharmacies Group, a united voice for small rural pharmacies.

Fred emigrated to Australia from Sweden in 2005 and managed a compounding pharmacy in Orange, NSW before moving to Tasmania in 2013 where he purchased Dover pharmacy. The Small Pharmacies Group was founded within a year, initially as an online community, giving a voice to 300 pharmacists in small pharmacies.

In 2019, Fred joined with Queensland pharmacist Karalyn Huxhagen to set up the Rural Pharmacy Network Australia which has been influential in advocating for pharmacists in rural areas and all pharmacists.

He exemplifies the great relationship rural pharmacists have with other health care professionals and reminds his peers that rural pharmacists are rural GPs' greatest supporters.

When not dedicating his life to pharmacy, Fred is an active member of the Dover community and was the only health professional in Dover when it was cut off during the January 2019 bushfires.

Dana McLennan, Early Career Pharmacist Award, New Town

Dana's pharmacist career started in a range of community pharmacy and hospital roles.

Dana joined Lenah Valley Calvary Hospital, a 400-bed facility, as the sole clinical pharmacist in late 2016. In this role, Dana introduced clinical services and multi-disciplinary team meetings to liaise with the nurse unit managers to identify the priority and at risk patients. This initiative was then taken up with other allied health within the hospital and has resulted in improved patient care. Aspects of this service are being implemented at other HPS run sites (e.g. St John's Hospital and the Hobart Private Hospital).

Dana was instrumental in developing the on-call training service for all pharmacists with mobile resources and references for when on call. This included training modules and is now used as mandatory training for all pharmacists joining HPS sites in Southern Tasmania. This initiative allows the pharmacist to be more confident in their clinical decisions as they are armed with more resources. This has led to less call outs, reduced cost and better patient management.

Dana also Chairs the PSA Early Career Pharmacist Tasmanian Working Group; provides medicine review services to people living in the community and in residential aged care; and is involved in several research projects in the REMINDAR trial, with pharmacists performing cognition and strength tests before and after RMMRs.

Outside of pharmacy, Dana enjoys touch football and is preparing for her upcoming wedding in March.