Ben Coghlan wins 2018 Pharmacy Student of the Year Award

July 28, 2018


Ben Coghlan from the ACT has won both the 2018 PSA Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) Award and the People’s Choice Award, announced at the PSA18 Gala Dinner in Sydney tonight.


PSA National President Dr Shane Jackson congratulated Mr Coghlan on his exceptional achievement


“The PSOTY Award gives outstanding pharmacy students the chance to showcase their counselling skills to their peers and the wider profession,” Dr Jackson said.


“We saw many rising stars of pharmacy apply their clinical knowledge and communication skills in this year’s competition.”


The judges were impressed by the strong field of State, Territory and wildcard finalists:


  • Vanessa Koumi, University of South Australia (SA/NT)
  • Rhiannon Froude, Monash University (VIC)
  • Irini Moutsatsos, University of Tasmania (TAS)
  • Stephanie Figgins, Griffith University (QLD)
  • Ben Coghlan, University of Canberra (ACT)
  • Charlotte Earl, Curtin University of Technology (WA)
  • Katherine Pollard, University of New England (NSW)
  • NAPSA Wildcard – Gabrielle Wilson, La Trobe University (VIC)

This year’s competition was sponsored by Mylan.


The winner receives the National Travel Prize for pharmacy-specific education of an expenses-paid trip to an international pharmacy conference.


Mylan Strategic Program Lead Charbel Azzi said: “Mylan would like to congratulate Mr Coghlan on his outstanding achievement. All the finalists displayed well-rounded knowledge and the ability to apply it in a tightly fought competition.


“It fills me with confidence and reassurance to know the future of the profession and the industry will be in great hands. As a company whose mission is focused on creating better health, Mylan is deeply committed to supporting programs that inspire future scientists, pharmacists and physicians.”


“PSA thanks Mylan for their fantastic support of this award,” Dr Jackson said.



Media contact:
Jarryd Luke
Senior Communications Officer
0487 922 176