Chelsea Felkai elected PSA NSW Branch President

Thursday 4 June 2020


Newcastle based community pharmacist Chelsea Felkai has been elected as New South Wales (NSW) Branch President of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA).


Ms Felkai, an early career pharmacist locums in community pharmacy and is currently undertaking a PhD and teaches at the University of Newcastle.


Ms Felkai is the third female to be elected as President in the history of the PSA in NSW, with the last female president, Pam Loveridge, elected over 25 years ago in 1994-1995.


A vocal advocate for the expansion of pharmacists’ roles, particularly those that support medicines safety, Ms Felkai is also the past chair of the NSW Early Career Pharmacist working group.


Her contributions extend to the development of online education in prescription medicine safety, harm minimisation and recent publications in the Australian Pharmacist in clinical and industry areas. She is also a representative on the NSW Poison’s Advisory Committee.


Ms Felkai said she has a strong interest working closely with key stakeholders at both state and local levels to ensure pharmacists are included in funding and training arrangements, as well as ensuring pharmacists have greater input into healthcare considerations.


“I have always been passionate about pharmacists being recognised and utilised to their full potential in health care, as well as working across various settings,” she said.


“I look forward to being able to make a positive impact and working closely with the committee, pharmacists and key organisations in NSW.”


With her role as NSW Branch President to begin from July 1 2020, outgoing president Professor Peter Carroll has been elected as the NSW Board Appointed PSA director.


Ms Felkai acknowledged the fine work of her predecessor Professor Carroll.


“Over the past three years, Peter has raised the profile of the PSA in NSW and driven many successful initiatives, such as the expansion of vaccination,” she said.


“He has developed strong working relationships with Ministers, Members of Parliament, government officials, and professional pharmacy colleagues such as the Pharmacy Guild in NSW.”


“I intend to further this important work and look forward to working with the NSW Ministry of Health to facilitate pharmacists’ involvement in key health areas to provide better outcomes for the NSW community.”


The NSW branch also elected Krysti-Lee Rigby and Peter Carroll as Vice Presidents.


Media contact: PSA NSW State Manager: Simone Diamandis: 0414 574 754


Download media release