Pharmacists recognised in Governor-General’s Honours

26 January 2024


On behalf of the pharmacy profession, the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) acknowledges and congratulates the Australian pharmacists recognised in today’s Governor-General’s honours.


The following pharmacists received Honours from the Governor-General today:

  • ​Dr Jennifer (Jenny) Gowan FPS, Member of the Order of Australia (AM)
  • Mr Desmond Lum MPS, Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)
  • Ms Julie Rose Adams, Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM)


PSA National President A/Prof Fei Sim FPS congratulated the award recipients.

“The pharmacists recognised today have dedicated their lives to the health of their communities,” Dr Sim said.

“Congratulations to Dr Jenny Gowan, Mr Demond Lum, and Ms Julie Adams on your outstanding careers and your recognition as pillars of the community.

“On behalf of Australians, thank you for your contributions to our profession and our country,” A/Prof Sim said.

Dr Jennifer (Jenny) Gowan FPS

Dr Jenny Gowan FPS is a widely celebrated credentialed pharmacist, having been awarded PSA’s 2013 Pharmacist of the Year award as well as the AACP’s Consultant Pharmacist of the Year award in 2016.

Dr Gowan served on PSA’s Victorian Branch Committee for many years, and as the Branch’s Vice-President from 2021 to 2023. She has been a member of the PSA for 48 years.

Dr Gowan has been recognised by the Governor-General for her significant service to medicine as a pharmacist, to professional societies, and to community health.

Mr Desmond Lum MPS

Former community pharmacist Desmond Lum MPS has been recognised for his service to the communities of Holbrook and Thurgoona. Following a 30-year career as a pharmacist, Mr Lum has continued giving back to his communities through the Thurgoona Lions Club, the Thurgoona Men’s Shed, St Patrick’s School and various other organisations in the Albury-Wodonga region.

Mr Lum is a life member of the PSA, having been a member for 53 years.

Ms Julie Adams

Hospital Pharmacist Julie Adams was recognised for her service to pharmaceutical oncology.

Ms Adams has become a leader in oncology pharmacy and has expanded the role of pharmacists through innovation, research, and education. Ms Adam’s passion for pharmacy throughout her career has resulted in her being an inspirational member of the profession and a worthy recipient of the Pharmaceutical Society of Western Australia’s 2020 Eric Kirk Memorial Award.

PSA also congratulates former staff member Mr Peter Waterman, who was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for his service to media and journalism.

Media contact:   Georgia Clarke   M: 0480 099 798  E: georgia.clarke@psa.org.au