PSA congratulates pharmacists honoured on Australia Day

Sunday, 27 January 2020


The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) congratulates pharmacists and Life Members Emeritus Professor Bruce Sunderland, Mrs Jocelyn Watson and Mr Maxwell Page on their Australia Day Honours.


“Each pharmacist recognised on Australia Day represents the contribution members of our profession make to their local communities, and more broadly, each and every day,” PSA National President, Associate Professor Chris Freeman said.


Emeritus Professor Bruce Sunderland (Western Australia) was awarded Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for his significant service to education, particularly to pharmacy. Emeritus Professor Sunderland, a Life Fellow of the PSA has had a distinguished career at Curtin University in Western Australia commencing in 1968. He taught more than a generation of pharmacists in Western Australia and his publications and teachings have heavily impacted the profession of pharmacy.


PSA acknowledges the lifetime activities of Emeritus Professor Sunderland in his significant academic and practice roles and the work that he has done as an editorial board member of the Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook.


Mrs Jocelyn Watson (Tasmania) was awarded the Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia for service to the community of Launceston. A long serving member of many community groups, Mrs Watson has also had an impactful career in pharmacy. A mentor for many younger pharmacists, with many numerous roles in pharmacy including with the former Pharmacy Board of Tasmania, she has contributed immensely to professional pharmacy practice within Tasmania.


Mr Maxwell Page (Western Australia), a PSA Life Member, has been awarded the honour of Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia for service to the performing arts in Western Australia. Mr Page has been a pharmacist, a member of the PSA and has made significant contribution to pharmacy education in WA as a lecturer at Curtin University School of Pharmacy for over 40 years.


“I congratulate Bruce, Jocelyn and Max for their commitment to pharmacy and improving health care in this country,” A/Prof Freeman said.


“Our pharmacists give generously of their expertise, time and support – often behind the scenes and without expectation of anything in return. It is heartwarming to today see these leading members of our profession publicly thanked on the national stage and providing inspiration to others.”


Media contact: PSA Media, 0487 922 176