PSA21VIRTUAL: QUT take out PSOTY honours

Last night, The Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) awards were conducted at PSA21VIRTUAL, with Queensland University of Technology’s Zoe Robinson winning and claiming the honours. 


PSOTY awards recognise and celebrate outstanding pharmacy students by showcasing their counselling skills to the pharmacy profession and is a highlight of PSA’s annual flagship conference. 


PSA extends thanks to the PSOTY award sponsor, Viatris, for their ongoing support of the event, and looks forward to working with them again in 2022.


Congratulations also to Dharshan Rasiah from the University of South Australia, who took out the People’s Choice award. 


PSA National President, A/Prof Chris Freeman, congratulated Ms Robinson on her achievement and commended the talent of all finalists.


“It is heartening to see the future of our profession on show, demonstrating a high level of clinical knowledge, capability and passion – evidently, the future of pharmacy is incredibly bright.


“I congratulate Zoe on her achievement and would like to thank all the finalists in what was a difficult decision for the judging panel. 


“This competition provides students the opportunity to demonstrate important skills such as gaining patient insights and patient understanding, active listening and skills that support positive patient outcomes.


“We commend each finalist for the professionalism they displayed when communicating with the patient, taking patient history, excluding serious medical conditions and subsequently arriving at an appropriate clinical recommendation,” A/Prof Freeman concluded.


As winner of the national award, Ms Robinson has received a travel prize for pharmacy-specific education to the value of $5,000.




Media contact: PSA media 0424 777 463