Pharmacy Student of the Year finalists announced

28 June 2022



The state and territory finalists for the 2022 Viatris Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) award have been selected, with the national final scheduled to take place at PSA’s national conference PSA22 in July.


During the national final, students will be tested with a real-life clinical situation, where a patient will present with signs and symptoms or a specific product request. Students are then required to use their clinical knowledge and communication skills to identify the most appropriate course of treatment, tailoring their response to provide the most appropriate advice.


A judging panel assesses all state finalists before selecting the national winner.


PSA National President-elect Dr Fei Sim said that the PSOTY awards encourage students to draw on their clinical knowledge and emotional intelligence to demonstrate their skills.


“The PSOTY awards are an opportunity for pharmacy students to practice and develop their skills in the kinds of real-world situations you would experience as a practising pharmacist.  


“I congratulate all the students who’ve participated in the competition this year for their hard work


“It’s exciting to see such talented students entering our profession and dedicating their lives to the health and wellbeing of their communities,” Dr Sim said.


State finalists include:

ACT: Eden Brennen (University of Canberra)
NSW: Chloe Woodward (University of Newcastle)
QLD: Rheanna Norris (University of Queensland)
SA/NT: Irene Stergos (Charles Darwin University)
Haylee Shaw (University of Tasmania)
Hannah Barakat (La Trobe University)
WA: Melissa Cato (University of Western Australia)



They will also be joined by Renee Buckland from James Cook University, Queensland, who was the Wildcard winner at the NAPSA Congress.


PSA extends thanks to the PSOTY award sponsor, Viatris, for their ongoing support and wishes all state finalists the best of luck at the national final.



Media contact: Georgia Clarke 0487 922 176