Pharmacy Student of the Year wildcard announced

18 January 2023


The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) has proudly awarded Ingrid Stroud from the University of Canberra with the 2023 Pharmacy Student of the Year wildcard as part of the National Australian Pharmacy Students Association (NAPSA) Congress.


The PSOTY award recognises and celebrates Australia’s outstanding pharmacy students. The award showcases the knowledge, skills and abilities of select students to the broader pharmacy profession, whilst giving them the opportunity to apply, and be judged on, their counselling skills.


The PSOTY wildcard is awarded to an outstanding student to compete alongside state finalists in the national PSOTY competition held at PSA23.


The 2023 competition was judged by PSA Chief Executive Officer Mark Kinsela, Early Career Pharmacist Erin Cooper and NAPSA representative Emma O’Donnell.


The judges congratulated Ingrid Stroud and commended all finalists on their skills as the next generation of pharmacists.


“Each of the competitors should be very proud of the knowledge and skills they presented,” Erin Cooper said on behalf of the judging panel.


“The Pharmacy Student of the Year competition requires students to communicate with their patient, take patient history and make a clinical recommendation for treatment.


“It is heartening to see the future of our profession on show, demonstrating a high level of clinical knowledge, capability and passion – it’s clear that the future of pharmacy is incredibly bright.


“Congratulations to Ingrid on taking out this year’s wildcard competition. We look forward to seeing you at PSA23 for the national finals.”



Media contact:   Georgia Clarke   M: 0410 505 315     E: georgia.clarke@psa.org.au