Victorian pharmacists honoured

Tuesday December 22


A number of talented pharmacists have been honoured as part of the PSA 2020 Victorian Excellence Awards.


Due to COVID-19 restrictions there was unable to be a ceremony with all six recipients receiving their awards from PSA Victorian President John Jackson at their respective workplace on Monday.


Mr Jackson said he was delighted to present awards to this year’s winners in what has been a difficult 12 months for so many.


“2020 has been an extraordinary year where pharmacists in Victoria have been tested to the absolute limits but have met those challenges head on,” he said.


“All six winners have exemplified a significant contribution to the profession throughout this year and their careers and I congratulate them all on this worthy recognition.


“I would also like to take this opportunity to recognise all Victorian pharmacists for their dedication and professionalism throughout 2020.


“I am incredibly proud of how the profession has stood up as frontline health professionals and cared for the community during the bushfires and pandemic with over 8000 pharmacists working in community pharmacies, hospitals, aged care facilities, general practice and beyond in Victoria.”


The 2020 PSA Victorian Excellence Awards winners are:


Victorian Pharmacist Medal – Dimitra Tsucalus


Pharmacist of the year – Dimitra Hoppe


Early Career Pharmacist of the year – Esa Chen


Lifetime Achievement Award – Valerie Constable and John Ware OAM


Intern Pharmacist of the year – Jarrad Walker


Dimitra Hoppe said it is an honour to be recognised as Victorian pharmacist of the year in 2020.


“I feel like this award is not just recognition for me but all those who surround me including employers, my colleagues and all the pharmacists I have had the opportunity to work with along the way,” she said.


“I have been lucky enough to work with some terrific people across a diverse range of roles and this award is as much of a reflection on them as it is me.”