Alyssa Murray wins Pharmacy Student of the Year Wildcard

Sunday January 27, 2019


Alyssa Murray from Queensland has won the National Australian Pharmacy Students’ Association (NAPSA) Wildcard for the 2019 PSA Pharmacy Student of the Year (PSOTY) Award.


PSA National President Dr Chris Freeman announced the award at the NAPSA Congress Gala Ball in Adelaide tonight.


Dr Freeman congratulated Ms Murray on her exceptional achievement.


“Ms Murray and all of the finalists demonstrated exceptional counselling skills and impressive pharmacy knowledge,” Dr Freeman said.


“It was great to see so much talent on display at the competition today.


“Seeing these rising stars in action fills me with confidence about the future of the profession.”


Ms Murray is completing a Bachelor of Pharmacy at the University of Queensland and is a member of the Queensland Pharmacy Students Association (QPSA).


The judges were impressed by the strong field of finalists:


  • Noor Shoaib, La Trobe University (VIC)
  • Vivien Banks, University of Queensland (QLD)
  • Jacqui Leggett, Queensland University of Technology (QLD)
  • Stephanie Samios, University of Queensland (QLD)
  • Sean Richardson, University of South Australia (SA)


The award is proudly sponsored by Mylan.


Ms Murray will now travel to PSA’s national conference PSA19 from 26 to 28 July 2019 in Sydney to compete in the prestigious national final.


“PSA thanks Mylan for their fantastic support of this award,” Dr Freeman said.


Media contact:
Jarryd Luke
Senior Communications Officer
0487 922 176