Exceptional Tasmanian Pharmacists recognised

Tasmanian pharmacists Peter Fowler (Launceston, Tasmanian Pharmacist Lifetime Achievement Award), Fredrik Hellqvist (Dover, Tasmanian Pharmacist of the Year) and Dana McLennan (New Town, Early Career Pharmacist Award) were last night honoured for their outstanding contribution to the health of Tasmanians in the Tasmanian Pharmacist Awards presented at the sixth annual Tasmanian Pharmacist Dinner in South Hobart.


The awards, jointly hosted by the Tasmanian branches of the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA), The Pharmacy Guild of Australia and the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA), and the University of Tasmania, recognise outstanding achievement in supporting the quality and safe use of medicines.


Tasmanian pharmacy leaders have congratulated each of the award winning pharmacists on their success:


“Over many years, Peter has been dedicated to supporting the next generation of pharmacists through outstanding work in education and tutoring, as well as mentoring Intensive Care Pharmacists in the hospital setting.” SHPA Tasmanian Chair, Michelle Paine said. “His leadership of hospital pharmacists in Tasmania, and across Australia has supported excellence and the continued evolution of the role pharmacists play in supporting safe and quality medicine use in hospitals.”


Pharmacy Guild Tasmanian President John Dowling said, “Fred has dedicated his life to rural pharmacy since moving to Tasmania and purchasing Dover Pharmacy in 2013. He has created a network and advocates for and on behalf of all rural and remote pharmacists in Australia. Tasmanians living in rural and regional area have better access to pharmacist care because of his contribution.”


Congratulating Dana on her award, Dr Ella Van Tienen, Tasmanian President of PSA reflected ‘Dana has been instrumental in the development of clinical pharmacy services at the Calvary Hospital. Aspects of these services have since been implemented at St John’s Hospital and Hobart Private Hospital.”


The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia congratulates all the award winners on their achievements.


Entries for the 2020 Tasmanian Pharmacist Awards will open in August 2020.


Interviews with award winners and additional high resolution photos are available through Paquita Sutherland, PSA Tasmanian Branch at paquita.sutherland@psa.org.au


Profiles of award winners in attached PDF media release


Media contact: PSA Tasmania, Paquita Sutherland 0408 308 339