Leading NSW pharmacists honoured

Friday, 6 March 2020


Forbes based pharmacist Sarah Hazell has received the NSW pharmacist of the year award at the Annual Celebration of Excellence in Pharmacy, hosted by the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA).


PSA NSW Branch President Professor Peter Carroll presented the award to Ms Hazell at the Crown Plaza in Terrigal on Friday night.


Jennifer Culverson won the NSW Early Career Pharmacist of the year award and Michael Flannery was presented with the NSW Lifetime Achievement honour.


Professor Carroll congratulated Ms Hazell for her continued commitment in providing positive health outcomes to the local community.


“Sarah has a great understanding of the Forbes local community and has shown a real focus on developing not just pharmacists’ career progressions but also pharmacy assistants, nurses and dispensary technicians,” said Professor Carroll.


“Among many of her achievements, Sarah has enhanced indigenous health by initiating a QUMAX agreement with local medical centres, also developing a health hub with health professionals utilising clinic rooms such as Podiatrists, a Registered Nurse, an Audiometrist and Physiotherapists.


“Sarah is a leader in her community and a mentor to young pharmacists and is a well-deserved winner of this award.”


Jennifer Culverson from Orange was also recognised for her achievements, receiving the NSW Early Career Pharmacist of the Year award.


“Not only is Jennifer heavily involved in the education of pharmacy students at Charles Sturt University, she has also played a key role within the respiratory space on the medical ward at Orange Health Service over the past twelve months,” Professor Carroll said.


“Jennifer has the upmost respect from her colleagues and has shown outstanding commitment to expand the pharmacists’ role within the hospital setting through research and innovation.


“Over a period of time, Jennifer has demonstrated admirable qualities and displayed a high level of drive, determination and passion to extend the role of a pharmacist in the rapidly changing field of healthcare.”


Jennifer was also the recipient of the PSA/Bayer ECP grant valued at $8,500, which supports early career pharmacists in attending the main conference program at PSA’s Offshore Conference in Edinburgh and Belfast in 2020.


Professor Carroll also congratulated Sydney based pharmacist Michael Flannery who was presented with the NSW Lifetime Achievement award.


“Michael is the perfect example of the community pharmacist and has shown terrific passion and dedication to the pharmacy profession over many years.


“Managing Director and founder of Instigo, Micahel is also the founder of Pharmacy Catalyst and CEO of Life Pharmacy Group that has numerous examples of partners who Michael has mentored and supported from school student, through cadetship, to intern to Pharmacist and through to owner.


“Michael has also represented the pharmacy industry nationally and internationally as well as sitting on a number of committees and working groups.”


PSA Contact: Simone Diamandis: 0414 574 754