NSW PSA Recognises Outstanding Achievement

The high quality service delivery by NSW pharmacists has been recognised at the Pharmaceutical Society’s (PSA) NSW/ACT Annual Therapeutic Update (ATU) conference.


NSW PSA President, Chelsea Felkai, presented awards for NSW Intern of the Year, NSW Early Career Pharmacist of the Year and NSW Pharmacist of the Year at the award ceremony held at the ATU on Saturday 13 March.


“These awards not only recognise the outstanding achievements of the winners but also highlights the vital role of pharmacists across different practice settings and locations,” Ms Felkai said.


“Pharmacists are often the first point of contact on medical and medicinal issues for the public, and this conference and these awards serve to bring our profession together to ensure we are delivering best possible service delivery to our communities.”


The ATU conference brings together the pharmacy profession to discuss the latest activity and innovation within the health sector and to ensure high-quality service delivery to the community.


New England pharmacist, Anna Barwick, received the NSW Pharmacist of the Year award. Ms Felkai said Anna has led work in the area of telehealth and improving communications between pharmacists and the general community.


“Anna’s pioneering work in this field has led to the formation of the PharmOnline, a 24/7 telehealth advisory service which provides opportunities for the community to access health and medicines advice. Anna has also served as a member of PSA’s NSW Branch committee,” Ms Felkai said.


“Her work and advocacy in this field has certainly improved opportunities for rural communities to access advice and treatment opportunities where they have traditionally proved very difficult.”


The NSW Early Career Pharmacists’ award went to Dr Sarah Dineen-Griffin, who is the Vice-President of the Federation of International Pharmacy (FIP) Next Generation Pharmacy committee, a NSW Branch Committee member of PSA and Chair of the NSW early career pharmacist (ECP) working group.


“Sarah has led research into pharmacists providing non-urgent care, minor ailment services and self-care and is a leader in paving a bright future for early career pharmacists,” Ms Felkai said.


NSW Intern of the Year was awarded to Illawarra hospital pharmacist, Bridgette Mackley. Bridgette, who undertook her internship at Wollongong Hospital, is the NSW representative on PSA’s National Early Career Pharmacist (ECP) group. Bridgette continues to work as a hospital pharmacist in the Illawarra area.


Ms Felkai said Bridgette was a strong advocate for early career pharmacists and ensuring professional opportunities for clinical skills and education and training were made available.


The ACT award winners were announced in December 2020 at a separate awards function held in Canberra. The ACT winners included Erin Cooper (ACT Intern Pharmacist of the Year), Mandy Wang (ACT ECP Pharmacist of the Year) and Brad Butt (ACT Pharmacist of the Year).