Outstanding ACT Pharmacists honoured

Thursday 10 December 2020


Three outstanding pharmacists have been honored at the inaugural ACT Excellence Awards hosted by the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) at Pharmacy House on Wednesday night.


Brad Butt was awarded Pharmacist of the year with Mandy Wang claiming Early Career Pharmacist of the year and Erin Cooper Intern Pharmacist of the year.


PSA ACT Branch President Renae Beardmore congratulated all three winners who have played a key role in serving the ACT community during a difficult year.


“This year more than ever we need to celebrate pharmacists on the frontline who have continued to provide essential medicines and health care to patients during bushfires and COVID-19,” she said.


“Brad is the epitome of what a community pharmacist should be and has led by example, building a strong community-focused ethic within his pharmacy providing exceptional and innovative personalised customer medication management services.


“His establishment of a service model of men’s health displays many of the qualities consistent with PSA’s Pharmacists in 2023 vision and his professionalism is further exemplified by his desire to deliver more health services to his community.


“Brad’s unique and innovative fee for service model is delivering a significant area of need for men with urological conditions.”


Ms Beardmore also paid tribute to Mandy Wang who as an early career pharmacist has shown tremendous leadership as well as a desire to innovate the pharmacist’s role.


“Over the last twelve months Mandy’s accomplishments, like many ACT pharmacists were framed by bushfire smoke, the threat of bushfire requiring the need for evacuations of her pharmacy and COVID-19.


“During the height of the COVID-19 pandemic, Mandy reached out to special communities she identified as having little or no access to healthcare via PBS or usual Government care.


“As part of the 2020 influenza NIP program, Mandy personally vaccinated 618 patients and has displayed an incredible amount of commitment, professionalism and care for her patients and the community.”


Ms Beardmore also congratulated Erin Cooper who was presented with the Intern Pharmacist of the Year Award.


“Erin consistently exceeds the expectations of her role in pharmacy, implementing various professional services, supporting other pharmacists, and above all, making our community healthier every step of the way.


“Erin’s peers would describe her as a collaborative and kind pharmacists and was the NAPSA President during the early stages of COVID-19, personally contributing to the creation of tools and support for members.


“I would also like to take this opportunity to thank all ACT pharmacists for their dedication and professionalism in what has been a difficult year for so many people.”


Media contact: PSA media 0487 922 176