PSA welcomes CPS President-elect Prof Kevin Batty FPS

28 November 2023


The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) welcomes the newly elected President of the Council of Pharmacy Schools (CPS), Professor Kevin Batty FPS of Curtin University.


Professor Kevin Batty has a 40-year career in pharmacy, including 10 years as a hospital pharmacist and 25 years as a university academic. Professor Batty is a Fellow of the PSA and was awarded PSA’s Western Australia Lifetime Achievement Award in 2023.


Alongside Prof. Batty, PSA also welcomes Professor Andrew McLachlan AM FPS who will continue in his role as CPS Vice-President, and Treasurer-elect A/Prof David Newby FPS.


PSA National President Dr Fei Sim FPS shared her congratulations with CPS’ incoming leadership.


“CPS and PSA have a long-established working and collaborative relationship, sharing the vision and commitment to education and training,” Dr Sim said.


“Professor Batty brings a wealth of experience to CPS, across a range of roles including pharmacy practice and academia.


“As pharmacy practice continues to evolve to meet the growing needs of our ageing population, there has never been a more important time to ensure that Australia’s pharmacy programs are fit for the future.


“I look forward to continuing our work alongside CPS and its team of Councillors, under the leadership of Prof Batty, to ensure that our profession is supported by world-class education, starting with our universities.”


Dr Sim also acknowledged the work of outgoing CPS President, Professor Debra Rowett PSM, FPS.


“I have been privileged to work alongside Prof. Rowett as part of the Australian Pharmacy Leaders Forum (APLF) and have seen firsthand the profound impact she has had on the pharmacy profession.


“I sincerely thank Prof. Rowett for her unwavering commitment to preparing Australian graduates for a fulfilling career in pharmacy, her wisdom and leadership over a significant period of time.


“I also wish to acknowledge PSA’s National Board Member and outgoing CPS Treasurer Professor Mark Naunton FPS for his contribution to CPS.” Dr Sim concluded.


Additional quotes attributable to CPS President-elect, Prof. Kevin Batty FPS:


“It’s a great privilege to be elected President of CPS and succeed Prof. Debra Rowett PSM, who has been a tireless and inspirational leader of CPS. I’d also like to thank Prof. Mark Naunton for his contribution as CPS Treasurer and Prof. Andrew McLachlan AM, who will be continuing as CPS Vice President, and I welcome A/Prof. David Newby, the incoming Treasurer.


“Along with our Public Officer & Secretary, Ms Anne Pike, we look forward to continued growth in the relationship between CPS and PSA. As CPS Councillors represent all of the Pharmacy degree programs in Australia and New Zealand, our collective focus is on ensuring our graduates have the contemporary skills, knowledge and professional attributes for their careers.”



Media contact:   Georgia Clarke   M: 0480 099 798  E: georgia.clarke@psa.org.au