PSA welcomes new SHPA leaders

The Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA) commends outgoing President of the Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia (SHPA) Professor Michael Dooley for his inspiring leadership and welcomes the new leadership team.


Prof Dooley announced he was stepping down as President at the Medicines Management 2018 (MM2018) conference in Brisbane yesterday, with Peter Fowler named as incoming President.


PSA National President Dr Shane Jackson congratulated Prof Dooley on his four years of leadership, during which there has been strong investment in the hospital pharmacy sector.


“Michael is a passionate leader who has inspired countless hospital pharmacists, technicians and pharmacy assistants to build their professional skills and give patients the best possible care.


“He leaves a proud legacy of a growing and engaged hospital pharmacy sector with a focus on the future.


“Peter has extensive experience in the public hospital sector in Tasmania and I congratulate him on his new role.”


Dr Jacinta Johnson was announced as SHPA Vice President and David Brennan as Treasurer.


“Dr Johnson was named this year’s PSA Pharmacist of the Year for her outstanding leadership amongst Early Career Pharmacists, which I’m sure will serve her well in her new role.


“I look forward to working with Peter, Jacinta and David in 2019 to continue developing new opportunities for pharmacists to be appropriately recognised and remunerated for their expertise.”



Media contact:   

Jarryd Luke

Senior Communications Officer

0487 922 176