Ajust text size (less) Ajust text size (more)
Adjust text size

Competency standards

PSA is custodian of the National Competency Standards Framework for Pharmacists in Australia. The standards are regularly reviewed and revised by all stakeholders of the pharmacy profession. The current version was published in November 2010.

Key features

The revised standards:

  • Consolidate eight domains (previously functional areas) and 33 standards to represent the total competency framework for the pharmacy profession
  • Strengthen certain requirements, particularly in the areas of leadership and management, extemporaneous preparation, researchers and educators, collaboration,  primary and preventive health care
  • Clearly articulate performance criteria expected at initial registration (i.e. at entry level)
  • Communicate the importance and relevance of competency standards at all stages of a pharmacist’s professional life and
  • Introduce the concept of advanced practice to the profession.

Links and download

National Competency Standards (1.5 MiB) Acrobat (pdf) file

OUR VISION: Improving health through excellence in the practice of pharmacy
PSA Committed to better health