Outstanding WA pharmacists recognised


Wednesday 20 March 2019


Melinda Boss has received the WA Pharmacist of the Year Award at the annual Western Australian Pharmacist Awards night hosted by the Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA).


PSA WA President Dr Fei Sim presented the award to Ms Boss at the University Club of Western Australia.


Lusi Sheehan was named WA Early Career Pharmacist of the Year and Emeritus Professor Dr Bruce Sunderland was presented with the WA Lifetime Achievement Award.


PSA National President Dr Chris Freeman delivered an engaging address on PSA’s work to enhance roles, recognition and remuneration for all pharmacists, as laid out in PSA’s Pharmacists in 2023 report.


Dr Sim congratulated Ms Boss on her important research and advocacy in the area of lactation.


“Melinda’s work demonstrates how a pharmacist can interact with the broader academic and medical community, raising the profile and influence of the pharmacy profession,” Dr Sim said.


Ms Sheehan received the Early Career Pharmacist Development Award for raising practice standards and providing a model of practice for her fellow Early Career Pharmacists.


“Lusi has extensive experience in community pharmacy and is a passionate advocate for the development of professional services,” Dr Sim said.


Dr Sim also congratulated Emeritus Professor Sunderland on his extensive experience and achievements in pharmaceutical education and research.


“Bruce has made significant contributions through a lifetime of commitment, leadership and dedication to the pharmacy profession.”


PSA also recognised new Life Members David Manners and Lawrence Spartalis on the evening, congratulating them for their 50-year membership with PSA.


Media contact:
Jarryd Luke
Senior Communications Officer
0487 922 176